Challenges defeated

Saturday was my first really long run in quite awhile.

I ran a half marathon on Mother’s day… and that was rough. I did it against doctors orders, but I had already paid my registration and paid for my plane tickets so there was no way I was missing it.

This weekend I had to do 12. I have done longer, so I knew I could do it. But for some reason that number just seemed so large. All week I was just overwhelmed by the number 12. And then I started to worry. If 12 miles was so scary, how was I going to do a marathon.

Well Saturday came, and thankfully the weather was gorgeous. It was in the 70s and not super humid in the early morning. I didn’t need to worry. I conquered those 12 miles!

I had a little trouble keeping pace the whole time. I run 2 minutes and walk for 1, but after mile 6 there were a few times I needed to walk longer. I was really frustrated with my inability to keep the pace I wanted, until my brain rationalized that I was way in front of the rest of my pace group. I lost my group around mile 5 and did not see them again until after I finished. So perhaps I need to run a little slower and I will be able to keep my pace.

Around the 6.5 mile mark, I started to have some chest pains. 20 years ago I was diagnosed with a slight heart issue. Normally it never bothers me, but I tend to try and be aware of my body and my heart. My heart rate monitor said 157 bpm, which is on the high end of the target heart rate, but I guess it is best to listen to my body lol. It was harder than you would expect to slow down and start walking. You would think chest pain, time to slow down, no brainer. It wasn’t even a race, just a training run, but it took me a minute to figure out that it was a bad idea to try and push through chest pain.

I will have to talk to the doctor the next time I see him about my hands swelling and my chest pain.

I used tri-berry goo, nuun, water, and salt tabs on my run. The salt tabs seem to really help me from getting cramps in my calves. I take one before long runs (over 10 miles) and then one every 7 miles. I have not had issues since I started doing this. Nuun is not my favorite, I generally prefer plain water, but by mile 7 the electrolytes and sugar was greatly appreciated. I drank about 1.5 L of water (nuun and regular) over the 2 hours I was running. I should have stopped at the last water stop and filled up my water bottles, but I had 2 miles left and I thought I had enough water.

Lesson: You never have enough water, might as well fill up

2 thoughts on “Challenges defeated

Leave a Reply

